A Vision from the Lord

I just had a vision where God was asking me to lay down my life, to die for the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  I heard his call and I enthusiastically declared YES, that I would lay down my life and die for God.  I put everything of this world behind me, my classes, my family, my books, my games, everything, and I walked away from it all towards my own death.  As I was approaching my fate, God stopped me just before I was to die, and He said now go, and preach the Gospel.  Confused, I stood there a moment, but then it dawned on me.  God has called us to die, and once we have accepted that call, once we have truly laid down our lives and left everything for Him, He calls us to live, and live for Him.

Many Christians are more than willing to die for God, to lay down their lives for the sake of the Gospel, but this is not too hard, because to lay down our lives for the Gospel is to be immediately in the presence of the Creator.  What is truly hard is to lay down our lives to become living sacrifices.  Many are willing to die for the Gospel, but how many of us are truly willing to live it out, to truly live as though Christ were our master and we His slave? John Bevere says that “you can never understand the Kingdom of God from a democratic mindset,” and he is right.  If we think we still have a say, a right to speak, a right to our lives, we will never enter the Kingdom.  His wife says “there is freedom in submission, and bondage in rebellion,” and she is also correct.  If we do not learn to submit to God, we are in bondage to our sinful nature, to the desires of the flesh and the trappings of this world, but if we submit to Christ, we are free to live life as it was truly meant to be lived.  We must submit ourselves under the only sovereign and divine authority there is, that is, Jesus Christ.  If we do not, we condemn ourselves.  “For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.” -Philippians 1:21

Please Lord Jesus , help me to submit to your authority and the authority of those in power over me.  Help me to lay my life down, truly forsake everything else for you.  There is so much in this world that attaches itself to us, so many things that hold us back from true surrender.  Help me to live this vision O mighty Savior, O sovereign Lord.  Help me, for I am too weak and worldly to let go myself.  Teach me to be obedient so that I may truly live for you, follow you, seek you, know you.  Without You there is no me.  You give us everything, even the air that we breath.  Teach us to be thankful, provide for our needs each day.  Help us to live dependent upon you.  In the power and name of Christ I pray, Amen.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

