Breaks

It is currently 1:40 a.m. on December 27th, and I am making my first post in almost a month.  I have realized that writing blog in the  manner that I do takes some serious time and thought.  I was hoping to blog on a more regular basis, but it is hard to always find the time to think through the topics then sit down and write out my thoughts and review them for errors.  Part of my problem is that I write these large posts on difficult topics, topics which are dear to me, and I put several hours into each one.  This takes time, and sometimes time just slips away from me.  I really do hope to keep posting and commenting on a regular basis, but life gets busy, and so time will pass without posts, but please be patient, and I will try to keep this blog fresh.

I have been on break for a few weeks now, and I am very glad I am done with this past semester.  It was a crazy last week, mainly because my procrastination on several papers led me to have to write 34 pages the last week before school was out (a 15 page paper on a problem discussed in both Plato’s and Aristotle’s writings, an 8 page paper on Epistemic justification and Epistemic rationality as they relate to the Internalism/Externalism problem, an 8 page paper on my philosophy of Christian Leadership, and a 3 page paper on Utilitarianism as it was related to Ancient Rome).  On top of this, my team recorded our Finals video project for Christian Character and Leadership.  It was one busy week!

This has led me to the realization that I have been acknowledging that I have a problem with procrastination for a while now, and that now is the time that I need to be taking steps to overcome it.  I don’t think I will eliminate it right away, but I will try to incorporate little things here and there in order to take steps forward in the fight against laziness/procrastination.  This involves fighting it in all areas of my life, and not just in my school work.

I am going to try and see if I can’t do at least a weekly reflection blog post on how this battle is going, the steps I am taking to combat procrastination, and try and reflect on the reasons for my procrastination, and any underlying issues that contribute to it.

I got an iphone just before school was out, and it is super awesome!  I have so many awesome apps that I am excited about!  One of my favorites is the free kindle app.  I have downloaded over 170 free books, most of which are of a theological and or philosophical nature.  I also have many classics, from Alice in Wonderland to the Wizard of Oz.  There are literally thousands of free ebooks out there that you can download, distribute and reproduce for free, and it is completely legal because of expired copyrights.  Just go to the Kindle book store on Amazon.com  and search for free ebooks, or check out http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page if you want to check out their collection of over 36,000 free ebooks for a number of different formats.

The best part about getting an iphone is that it provides me with an easy to use and helpful tool in getting organized.  I plan on setting out a schedule for when I have time to do home work, when things are due, and when I am going to do them.  I know this seems like a lot of steps, but if I take small steps in the right direction, I will eventually be able to master my procrastination.  Another suggestion I have heard as a way to overcome procrastination is taking an hour to work on a paper or homework or reading, and just working on whatever it is for ten minutes, then taking a two minute break.  After that two minutes, repeat and do another 10 minutes of work, followed by another 2 minute break to do whatever.  After 5 repetitions, you have spent 50 minutes of the hour working on your assignment, and 10 minutes breaking.  It will help it not feel so overwhelming because you get to spend some time taking time to break (which normally happens when I get sidetracked with twitter or what not) when working on a paper.

I don’t know how many of these techniques are going to work, or what this coming semester will look like work load wise  with taking Advanced Written Composition, Medieval History, Medieval Philosophy, Ethics, and Christianity and Science, but I do know that it is going to be another semester full of surprises both good and bad, and that God will be with me and guide me through it all to His glory.

I hope to see you all on a more regular basis over the coming weeks, and if you want to see more of the weekly posts on what is going on with my life, but if I seem to be slacking on them, hit me up with a comment and I will try and get back on it.  If you just want me to stick to the larger, more philosophical posts, let me know that as well.

In search of Truth,

Derek J. Brent

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

