What I forget about Jesus: a Reflection

First, before we get into the actual post for today, I want to say I will work on getting the next Post about Evolution up within the next few days.  Between that post and this one, I will try and keep posting things that I wish to share.  I also have an upcoming post that is a reflection on the inconsistency of our own individual thought, and how we still expect complete perfection (consistency) in the thought of others.

This Post, What I Forget About Jesus: A Reflection, is one that I wrote earlier this year (January 7, 2011) and it is a reflection that was quite (and still is) relevant to my life.  I found (find) myself  currently in school full time, working towards a Master of Arts in Christian Apologetics (if not also a Doctorate), and I sometimes feel like my life isn’t enough, what I am doing isn’t enough, and that is the context out of which the following reflection grew.  Enjoy, and God Bless.

One of the things I forget the most about the life of Jesus Christ, is that though it was a life of service, devoted to God, it did not come without a time of preparation.  Jesus spent the majority of His life unknown to the world. It was only the last maybe three years of His life that He was made known to the world.  Sometimes I fret because I don’t feel like I am serving God enough, like I am not doing enough with my life, and I feel like I need to rush off and “do” something for God.  It is at these times that I need to stop and remember that though I can, am, and should be serving Him now, I need to allow God to prepare me, train me, and use me on His timing for HIS goals, and for HIS purposes.  I am where I need to be, at the foot of the cross, in the arms of Christ, learning, growing, and loving.  God knows my heart, and He knows me.  I don’t have to do anything to receive that love.  Just as God said of Jesus, I believe he says of us who have accepted Jesus, “This is my son(or daughter) whom I love, with whom I am well pleased.”  Even when I feel like I am a failure, even when I dwell on my past, (which by the way, is far too much) this is NOT what God sees.  When God looks at me, God sees a son, one he loves far greater than I think we can even fathom, and one who did nothing to earn that love.  Thank you so much Jesus, for without you I would be lost, and because of you I am found.  Because of you, I have purpose, I have love, I have redemption.  Because of the Love of Jesus, I can over come any obstacle that lies before me.  Because of Jesus I can endure any hardship, pain or persecution.  I can endure torture, strife, loss, or betrayal, not because of who I am or what I can do, but because of what Jesus already did for me on the Cross.  He gave me a new life, and I am eternally grateful.  Help me LORD, for I am so lost without you.  Light my path, and lead me.  Help me not to run ahead.  Help me not to fall behind.  Help me not to stray to the right or to the left, but rather, help me to walk side by side with you on the path you lay before me.  I know I will suffer.  I know there will be pain.  But your promise, your salvation, your redemption far outweigh anything this world has to throw at me.  Keep me close, and show me what you want from me, on your time, in your way.  I am yours, and You are mine.  I love you with all my Heart.  Thank you, Jesus.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “What I forget about Jesus: a Reflection”

  1. thecontentchristian says :

    Great post! I enjoy your blog, Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

