Procrastination

Procrastination is a problem I struggle with, particularly when it comes to schoolwork.  I hate that I do it, yet I always seem to be doing homework at the last-minute/the night before it is due.  Things always seem to come up that I can do instead, or need to do instead, and I find myself saying that I still have time to work on such and such, and again, I am staying up until 5 a.m. (with the class at 8a.m.) finishing my Metaphysics homework and reading, and there goes another messed up sleep schedule Wednesday.

Another aspect of procrastination I seem to struggle with is that I can’t seem to be very productive when it comes to research/writing a paper if it is still a ways off.  I lollygag, and I get distracted and a few hours have gone by and I have done hardly any substantive research.  I do not know why this is, and why when it is due in a few days or the next day, I can fly through these things.  Maybe it is the pressure that gets me focused and driven, but this is very stressful, and again, causes sleepless nights.

I need to figure out a way to stay motivated on research and breaking up the writing of a paper so I can get it done ahead of time.  One thing suggested to me is to schedule it out.  That is, I put on a schedule when things are due, and when I plan to do them, but I am not much of a calendar user.  Maybe I just need to become one, and use the due/do date thing.  I don’t know if that will help, but I do know that I am sick and tired of procrastination, and yet can’t seem to simply make myself stop.

How do you deal with procrastination?  How do you get motivated to research and write when a paper is weeks or months away?

One response to “Procrastination”

  1. philosopher145 says :

    Some teachers require their students to submit their work at various stages of completion. That way, the students can’t leave everything to the last minute.

Leave a Reply

